Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Acclaim seeks out new content and studios

Thu 19 Feb 2009 12:27pm GMT / 7:27am EST / 4:27am PST
BusinessOnlinePublishing

Online games publisher looking to consolidate market position with more titles

Acclaim Games is putting out feelers for more studios and titles to add it its portfolio of online games, in order to consolidate its position in the market.

The company, which is already developing or publishing 20 titles, is planning on becoming the largest online game publisher in the US, as CEO Howard Marks explained: "That can also mean purchasing or partnering with other online operators, our business model offers developers the most revenue in the industry.

"Acclaim Games is now in a growth phase, we are rapidly expanding worldwide, and are steadily releasing each of our games in 18 languages. We are also excited that we will soon be announcing our 10 millionth registered player!"

And chief creative officer, David Perry, outlined exactly what the company is looking to bring on board: "The answer is simple - we want the most innovative and fun online games, period.

"The games must be multiplayer, they must be compatible with the free-to-play business model (as that market is far outpacing the console market), and they must be able to scale to massive traffic. We are also interested in large scale multiplayer Flash Games.

"Ideally, we want games we can release soon, that already have had some testing, as our community has an insatiable appetite," he added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now