Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GameStop acquires 49 stores in Norway

Mon 31 Mar 2008 2:28pm GMT / 10:28am EDT / 7:28am PDT
BusinessRetail

US retailer continues European expansion as it rebrands local chain Free Record Shop

US games retailer GameStop has bolstered its presence in Europe by acquiring 49 stores in Norway.

Purchasing 100 per cent of the outstanding share capital of local chain Free Record Shop, the stores will now be branded as GameStop outlets as the company increases its store count to 160 locations in Norway, Sweden, Denmark and Finland.

"We are pleased to have worked with Hans Breukhoven and his entire management team at Free Record Shop to complete this acquisition," offered R. Richard Fontaine, CEO of GameStop.

"We look forward to expanding our productive business model in the Norwegian market and partnering with the knowledgeable and energetic store personnel at Free Record Shop. This transaction is another step in our strategy of bringing move video game stores to growth markets around the world."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now