Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

£10k grants on offer for PSN projects

Tue 11 Aug 2009 3:38pm GMT / 11:38am EDT / 8:38am PDT
Development

Commissioning project returns for second year, SCEE offering executive production and mentoring

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Digital developers are being offered the opportunity to compete for grants of GBP 10,000 to create content for Sony's PlayStation Network.

Sony Computer Entertainment Europe will host a three-day pitching event in October, in conjunction with Pixel-Lab and Northwest Vision, with successful companies awarded the grant, executive production and mentoring with SCEE, as well as the chance to take the project further and pitch to XDev Studio Europe.

It's the second year of the Get in the Game commissioning project. Two of last year's successful pitches are currently in consideration at Sony.

"It was reassuring to see a commitment of public funding like this from Northwest Vision & Media and it's clearly helped the teams involved strengthen their skills in many areas," offered Phil Gaskell, senior producer at XDev Studio Europe. "I'm confident we'll be taking some of the ideas generated through this initiative to market."

Toby Barnes, managing director of Pixel-Lab added: "We were really pleased with the final quality of the pitches last year, the teams had made huge leaps in terms of understanding the commissioning process, their audiences, and what was expected of them.

"We are really looking forward to this yearís new entrants and are expecting the bar to be even higher."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now