Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

700 lose jobs as EUK prepares to close doors

Fri 12 Dec 2008 12:55pm GMT / 7:55am EST / 4:55am PST
Business

Deloitte focuses on selling off assets as efforts to find a buyer fall flat

Deloitte, the administrator of Entertainment UK, has announced that it is no longer seeking a buyer for the wholesale distributor and instead is beginning the process of closing down the business.

Approximately 700 workers have been made redundant today and EUK will continue to operate with a reduced workforce of 375 employees, while the administrators continue to release value from the assets of the business.

"Regrettably, despite our continued efforts, we have been unable to identify a suitable buyer for the business," commented Dan Butters, reorganisation services partner at Deloitte.

"Whilst we will continue to consider offers for the sale of the business as a going concern, we will now focus on realising value from the company's assets."

"Unfortunately, it has been necessary to make 700 redundancies at the company's head office and distribution centres in Middlesex. We will retain a core team of 375 employees."

Deloitte has said it is working with Job Centre Plus to provide support and advice to employees who have been made redundant, and the Insolvency Service's Redundancy Payments Service has put together a team to approve claims for employee entitlements.

Butters added: "We are extremely grateful to the staff and management for their support throughout this difficult time. We would also like to thank the Job Centre and Insolvency Service for their cooperation and help."

This follows Woolworths collapse into liquidation and reports of EUK's failure to supply customers, such as high street retailer Zavvi which had to suspend online trading.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now