Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

58 staff face the axe at NCsoft Europe

Thu 11 Sep 2008 11:31am GMT / 7:31am EDT / 4:31am PDT
Business

Publisher confirms numbers as Euro business downsizes

NCsoft Europe

NCsoft, headquartered in Seoul, Korea, is the world's premier publisher and developer of massively multiplayer...

ncsoft.com

NCsoft Europe has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that 58 members of staff are facing the axe from the company's Brighton-based business.

Although the MMO publisher would not shed any light on which positions were to go, sources have indicated that not only development, but staff in marketing and publishing roles are also set to be laid off.

GamesIndustry.biz understands that multiple employees were let go yesterday, as the company worked its way through departments informing them of the decision to downsize.

NCsoft announced last night that it is to consolidate its European and US subsidiaries under the banner NC West, headed by Chris Chung, who takes the role of CEO.

The company has been suffering from falling revenues and lacklustre performance of the Western-developed title Tabula Rasa, although the company has denied that the game is set to be axed later this year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now