Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

505 Games cans Rule of Rose

Fri 24 Nov 2006 11:17am GMT / 6:17am EST / 3:17am PST

505 Games will no longer publisher controversial horror title Rule of Rose in the UK.

505 Games will no longer publish controversial horror title Rule of Rose in the UK.

The game was due to go on release today, but has faced a storm of criticism regarding its content, with even the Mayor of Rome, Walter Veltroni, and European justice and security commissioner Franco Frattini blasting the games' "obscene cruelty and brutality."

"Following discussions with our retail and publishing partners, 505 Games has taken the decision not to publish Rule of Rose in the UK at this time," said the publisher.

The move is an about turn by 505 Games, which recently challenged critics to view the game itself, after ratings boards PEGI and the Interactive Software and Video Standards Council judged the title suitable for release.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now