Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

40 jobs saved at Free Radical Design

Wed 04 Feb 2009 9:18am GMT / 4:18am EST / 1:18am PST
Development

Administrator confirms Crytek swoop for troubled UK studio

Over 40 jobs have been saved at UK studio Free Radical Design, following its purchase by Crytek last night.

"We are pleased to announce that a sale completed to Crytek late last night thus preserving over 40 jobs," confirmed Cameron Gunn, administrator at ReSolve Partners.

A formal announcement is expected later today. It is not yet clear whether Crytek has acquired the whole business, including intellectual properties such as TimeSplitters and Second Sight.

Free Radical Design went into administration just before Christmas last year, laying off more than 140 positions. However, administrator Resolve was confident of a sale following significant interest.

5 Comments

Good stuff - glad to see there's some life there yet!

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,210 2,049 0.9
Congrats all that made the transition.

I understand that Crytek has had all 3 home console SKU dev kits for almost 2 years now. This looks like a good way to get their feet into the home console market.

They've railed on PC piracy a lot so this makes a lot of sense for them especially if they retain a certain FPS franchise IP.

Posted:5 years ago

#2
Crytek ! Wot a saviour! They really have a good dev team at a bargain! And I hope Free Radical can now bring their IP to the fore.

Posted:5 years ago

#3

Alex McLean
Studio Head

6 0 0.0
Excellent news. Good to see some of the guys move forward together. Good luck.

Posted:5 years ago

#4
Good news all around on this one. Can't wait for a next gen TimeSplitters.

Posted:5 years ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now