Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

3D Xbox 360 games up and running at Ubisoft

Wed 21 May 2008 8:06am GMT / 4:06am EDT / 1:06am PDT
Publishing

Movie director James Cameron reveals adaptation of 3D movie working on home consoles

James Cameron, director of hit movies Aliens, Terminator and Titanic, has revealed that Ubisoft has a 3D version of forthcoming title Avatar up and running on Xbox 360 consoles, reports Cnet.

The game is a tie-in to Cameron's 3D Avatar movie, due for release in 2009, and is anticipated to be one of the biggest films to make use of the new stereoscopic film projectors being fitted in US movie theatres.

"Stereo production is the next big thing," said Cameron during a speech as part of Microsoft's Advance 08 advertising conference. "We are born seeing in three dimensions. Most animals have two eyes and not one. There is a reason I think."

Cameron believes 3D will help games become more immersive, and he also suggested that displays for laptops, phones and Microsoft's Zune could go stereoscopic without special glasses.

"You are in the game," he said. "This is the ultimate immersive media."

Ubisoft announced last summer that it had acquired the rights to Avatar, with CEO Yves Guillemot suggesting the game would be a "unique interactive experience."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now