Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel


Stardew Valley has sold 425,000 copies

By Rachel Weber

Stardew Valley has sold 425,000 copies

Thu 10 Mar 2016 1:00am GMT / 8:00pm EST / 5:00pm PST

Dev reveals total for first 12 days, says he's surprised

It's a farming simulation game made by one lone developer, but Stardew Valley has already sold 425,000 copies on Steam and GoG after just 12 days on sale.

"I thought it would be popular with people who were fans of Harvest Moon or Rune Factory, and I thought that would pretty much be it," developer Eric Barone told PC Gamer after revealing the figure.

"I never expected it to have such wide appeal. I mean, I'm super happy about it and I'm blown away by the reaction, but I'm surprised too."

Barone really was a one man development studio for the farming RPG, he wrote the code, composed the soundtrack, and programmed the game alone. He told PC Gamer that the success of the title may mean he hires a few people to help with "more technical aspects of the game," but ultimately prefers developing solo.

Stardew Valley was released on February 26 and retails at $14.99.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now