Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Ubisoft calls The Division a record breaker

By Rachel Weber

Ubisoft calls The Division a record breaker

Wed 09 Mar 2016 10:44pm GMT / 5:44pm EST / 2:44pm PST
RetailInsights

Doesn't share numbers, but says its first 24 hours are unprecedented

Ubisoft is teasing us. The publisher has revealed that its latest release, The Division, has sold more copies in its first 24 hours than any other Ubisoft game, ever. Digital sales also broke single day records for the company. What it hasn't revealed is any actual sales numbers.

"The launch of The Division is a tremendous achievement for Ubisoft, and demonstrates our unrivaled capacity to create fantastic new game brands and transform them into entertainment blockbusters," said CEO Yves Guillemot.

"This is a momentous day for Ubisoft, but more importantly it marks the start of millions of players' enduring engagement in The Division's game world, which we are confident they will love."

The Division launched on Monday and faced the usual first day issues that are now traditional for any online game and, more entertainingly, an early issue bottleneck that has seen players queuing up to use an in-game laptop.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

1 Comment

Peter Bond Studying Art & Design, University of Bedfordshire

93 28 0.3
Well deserved, a thoroughly awesome game all round. A game that i never thought i'd be interested initially when it was first revealed and a title which made me wanna play with my buddies online, buddies that have different tastes in gaming genres to me - so it was great to be playing with them. Kudos Ubi! ;)

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now