Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rocket League has 1 million unique players on Xbox One

By Matthew Handrahan

Rocket League has 1 million unique players on Xbox One

Mon 07 Mar 2016 8:03am GMT / 3:03am EST / 12:03am PST
Insights

Psyonix finds yet more success on console, and this time it didn't give the game away for free

The Xbox One version of Rocket League has more than 1 million unique players, and it has built that community without giving the game away for free.

Rocket League became one of the breakout hits of last year thanks in no small part to its inclusion in PlayStation Plus, which allowed PS4 users to download the game at no charge for the whole of July 2015. As that period neared its end, Psyonix revealed that Rocket League had been downloaded 5 million times. Not all of those downloads were on PS4 - SteamSpy pegged its player count at 500,000 at that time, and Psyonix announced 1 million PC sales a month later - and some would have been purchased by those who don't subscribe to PlayStation Plus, but it's safe to assume that the offer accounted for the majority of those users.

In terms of consoles, though, the Xbox One release was different. It launched on February 17, so that 1 million unique player figure has been amassed in just three weeks without having to give the game away for free. At present, Rocket League's price on Xbox Live is $19.99.

At the end of 2015, Rocket League had 8 million registered users and had earned $50 million in revenue. It is also an emerging eSport, with Psyonix announcing its inaugural tournament last week.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now