Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel


Far Cry Primal beats Zelda to stay UK #1

By Matthew Handrahan

Far Cry Primal beats Zelda to stay UK #1

Mon 07 Mar 2016 10:21am GMT / 5:21am EST / 2:21am PST

Nintendo's Twilight Princess HD remake fails to unseat Ubisoft's prehistoric riff on Far Cry

Far Cry Primal held on to the top spot in the UK last week, but at a time when only remakes threatened its supremacy.

Indeed, every single new entry in the UK top 40 was based on an existing product. The highest new entry was The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD, an update of the decade-old Wii game for the software starved Wii U. It entered the chart in second place.

The only other new entry in the top ten was a Quantic Dream double-pack, featuring the PlayStation 4 versions of Heavy Rain and Beyond: Two Souls. The former is available on the current generation of consoles for the first time. It was initially released back in 2010.

Rounding out a week of distinctly familiar 'new' releases was Mortal Kombat XL, which packages Mortal Kombat X (2015) with bonus content that is otherwise sold separately. In other words, it was a slow week at retail.

The UK software chart is posted courtesy of Ukie and Gfk Chart-Track.

Last Week This Week Title
1 1 Far Cry Primal
New Entry 2 The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD
2 3 Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2
4 4 Call of Duty: Black Ops III
3 5 FIFA 16
6 6 Lego Marvel Avengers
5 7 Grand Theft Auto V
New Entry 8 Heavy Rain & Beyond: Two Souls Collection
9 9 Rainbow 6: Siege
Re-entry 10 Forza Motorsport 6

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now