Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

McDonald Sweden intros VR Happy Meals

By Brendan Sinclair

McDonald Sweden intros VR Happy Meals

Thu 03 Mar 2016 9:32pm GMT / 4:32pm EST / 1:32pm PST
Virtual Reality

Kids combo meals to come with Google Cardboard-like headsets and educational skiing game

McDonald's is the latest company getting into the VR game. The Swedish arm of the fast food retailer announced this week that it has developed Happy Goggles, a VR headset made by re-folding a special Happy Meal box and sliding in a smartphone (much like Google Cardboard).

"McDonald's continually tests new ideas and, with Happy Goggles, virtual reality becomes available to everyone," the company said. "Happy Goggles are a test designed to modernize the Happy Meal and provide a digital experience in addition to the physical toys usually found in the box."

McDonalds Sweden is also releasing a game for the headset that it refers to as Se Upp I Backen, or Slope Stars. The game is billed as educational, teaching kids to be alert while skiing and mindful of obstacles and other skiers. It's also been endorsed by the Swedish alpine ski team.

The Happy Goggles promotion is being tested in Sweden at the moment, but McDonald's hopes to expand it to other countries soon. The company did not indicate which smartphone models are compatible with the Happy Goggles.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now