Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kopla Games raises €700,000 seed funding

By Matthew Handrahan

Kopla Games raises €700,000 seed funding

Wed 02 Mar 2016 8:46am GMT / 3:46am EST / 12:46am PST
MobileDevelopment

Founding team of Rovio veterans is making an accessible action-RPG

A team of Rovio veteran has raised €700,000 in seed funding for their new studio, Kopla Games, adding to a €100,000 pre-seed round from 2015.

The seed funding came from Klaas Kersting, the founder of Gameforge and Flaregames, and an early stage investor in Supercell. Kopla's €100,000 pre-seed round came from Sisu Game Ventures, among others.

The studio was founded at the start of 2015, by a team that, for the most part, had worked on Angry Birds at Rovio. Product lead Janne Jaakkola was product manager for Rovio, Art lead Ilkka Siik was a game artist, and tech lead Vilppu Tuominen was lead game programmer. Kopla's CEO, Mika Kuusisto, did not work for Rovio, coming instead from the Helsinki-based studio, Kuuasema.

Kopla Games, which is based in the FInnish city of Tampere, has set itself the goal of, "introducing action-RPGs to everyone," through an adherence to user feedback and metrics.

"We are all big fans of action-RPGs and we believe the existing games on mobile have only touched the tip of the iceberg in their true market potential," Kuusisto said in a statement. "We tap this opportunity by taking the long lifetime and immersive experience of the genre and make it accessible and appealing to a wide audience."

The studio's first project, codenamed Project Nonstop, will launch later this year, in partnership with Flaregames.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now