Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Firewatch out-sold Campo Santo's "wildest expectations"

By Matthew Handrahan

Firewatch out-sold Campo Santo's "wildest expectations"

Wed 24 Feb 2016 11:58am GMT / 6:58am EST / 3:58am PST
PublishingDevelopment

Sales performance of debut project ensures US indie will continue for some time yet

Firewatch has comfortably surpassed its sales expectations, ensuring that its developer, Campo Santo, will continue to make games.

Campo Santo was formed was formed in 2013 by a team of prominent figures from within the development community. Two of its founding team, Jake Rodkin and Sean Vanaman, were members of the team that made TellTale's The Walking Dead series, as well as being co-hosts of the popular podcast Idle Thumbs. Nels Anderson, lead designer on Klei Entertainment's Mark of the Ninja, and Olly Moss, the revered graphic artist, were also involved at an early stage.

Firewatch, Campo Santo's first game, launched on PC and PlayStation 4 earlier this month, and it has already eclipsed the studio's most optimistic expectations.

Exactly what that means in terms of hard figures isn't known, but SteamSpy puts its total owners above 190,000. When one considers the possible contribution from the PS4 community that is an impressive figure - even with the usual caveats about the precision of SteamSpy's data.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now