Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Amiga engineer Dave Needle dies

By Brendan Sinclair

Amiga engineer Dave Needle dies

Mon 22 Feb 2016 3:41pm GMT / 10:41am EST / 7:41am PST
People

Co-creator of Atari Lynx and 3DO Interactive Multiplayer passes away peacefully

Veteran engineer Dave Needle, a key engineer behind the original Amiga computer, has died. As reported by Retro Computing News, Needle passed away peacefully on Friday evening.

Needle had been a key player at Amiga on the Lorraine project, which would eventually become the company's first product, the Amiga 1000.

While at Amiga, Needle found a collaborator in R.J. Mical. They would later team together to create Atari's Lynx handheld, as well as the 3DO Interactive Multiplayer.

Photo credit: Mike Brantley

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

2 Comments

James Boulton Tools & Tech Coder, Slightly Mad Studios

144 183 1.3
Eurgh, very sad news. :( The Atari Lynx hardware is a lovely piece of work, as is the Amiga chipset. Machines which got me into this industry in the first place and also spurred my interest in hardware design.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by James Boulton on 22nd February 2016 5:48pm

Posted:3 months ago

#1

Tom Keresztes Programmer

741 389 0.5
Just like the Amiga: Born a Champion !

Posted:3 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now