Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kojima: "I feel extremely free right now"

By Rachel Weber

Kojima: "I feel extremely free right now"

Fri 19 Feb 2016 12:44am GMT / 7:44pm EST / 4:44pm PST
DICE 2016

Shares stage with Guillermo del Toro at DICE

Film director Guillermo del Toro and Hideo Kojima were perhaps the stars of the most anticipated DICE talk today, and used the time to talk about their working relationship and Kojima's plans post-Konami.

"I feel extremely free right now. I'm trying to make a big game, very edgy game with an extremely small team." he told audiences at DICE, as reported by Gamasutra.

"I have no intentions of ever changing anything I do in order for it to be a hit or sell more, it's something I am not going to do and I don't want to do. I have to create something I want to play, and at the same time figure out ways it will be appealing to the market."

Del Toro also explained why the pair were interested in working together.

"We have the same passion for melancholic ideas executed in big action genres. He brings lyricism, and literate ideas."

Disappointingly the pair did not confirm that they had any projects planned together, though Del Toro was emphatic in his response to possible future collaborations.

"I'll do whatever the fuck he wants."

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now