Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Fallout 4 named Game of the Year at DICE

By Matthew Handrahan

Fallout 4 named Game of the Year at DICE

Fri 19 Feb 2016 8:56am GMT / 3:56am EST / 12:56am PST
EventsDICE 2016

Bethesda's RPG picked up three awards, as did The Witcher 3, Rocket League and Ori and the Blind Forest

Bethesda's Fallout 4 was honoured three times at the DICE Awards yesterday, a haul that included being named Game of the Year.

But Fallout wasn't the only game held in such high esteem by the members of the Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences. Moon Studios' Ori and the Blind Forest, CD Projekt's The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt and Psyonix's Rocket League all received three awards each.

In a statement released following the ceremony, AIAS president Martin Rae noted that the big winners, " truly embody the diverse set of games and platforms that have come to represent the changing face of our industry."

Former Nintendo president Satoru Iwata, who died in 2015, was given the Lifetime Achievement Award. Hideo Kojima, who appeared onstage with Guillermo Del Toro, was inducted into the AIAS Hall of Fame, the 21st industry figure to receive that honour.

Other notable winners included Star Wars Battlefront for Action Game of the Year, Metal Gear Solid V for Adventure Game of the Year and Super Mario Maker for Family Game of the Year.

The full list of winners can be found on the DICE website.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now