Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rise of the Tomb Raider wins Writers Guild award

By Matthew Handrahan

Rise of the Tomb Raider wins Writers Guild award

Mon 15 Feb 2016 9:13am GMT / 4:13am EST / 1:13am PST
PublishingDevelopment

Crystal Dynamics' sequel beat The Witcher 3, Pillars of Eternity and Assassin's Creed: Syndicate

Crystal Dynamics' Rise of the Tomb Raider is this year's winner of the Writers Guild of America's "Outstanding Achievement in Video Game Writing" award.

The Xbox One console exclusive, which was co-published by Square Enix and Microsoft, was chosen ahead of fellow nominees The Witcher 3, Pillars of Eternity and Assassin's Creed: Syndicate. Four people were named on the award: lead narrative designer John Stafford, narrative designer Cameron Suey, lead writer Rhianna Pratchett, and additional writer Philip Gelatt.

Rise of the Tomb Raider was launched in November last year to widespread acclaim. Sales were notably weaker than its predecessor, Tomb Raider, which sold almost 3.5 million units in its first month, and passed 8.5 million units in April last year.

Microsoft acknowledged that Rise of the Tomb Raider sold "well over 1 million units" last month, but Square Enix said only that it made a "solid" start in a recent call with investors.

Rise of the Tomb Raider is also leading the nominations at the DICE Awards, which will be handed out later this week.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now