Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

SpecialEffect aims to raise 150,000 with GameBlast weekend

By Matthew Handrahan

SpecialEffect aims to raise 150,000 with GameBlast weekend

Thu 04 Feb 2016 1:51pm GMT / 8:51am EST / 5:51am PST
Charity

"We're inviting everyone from the global gaming community and industry to join us"

SpecialEffect is aiming to raise 150,000 from GameBlast16, the UK's biggest charity weekend focused on gaming.

GameBlast16 is the banner name for a broad range of different gaming marathons and events, which will be spread across multiple locations on the weekend of February 26 to 28. More than 200 people and teams have already signed up to raise funds during the event.

Twitch, Multiplay, FACEIT and Ukie are among the many big names attached to GameBlast16. Both GAME and Jagex will host 24-hour livestreamed events from their respective headquarters, while the former will also be running various fundraising initiatives in its 320 UK stores throughout February.

"GameBlast16 is an opportunity to bring together people to do what they love and level the playing field for people with disabilities at the same time," said Dr Mick Donegan, CEO of SpecialEffect, in a statement. "There's still time to get fully involved, and we're inviting everyone from the global gaming community and industry to join us."

Last year, GameBlast resulted in more than 120,000 for SpecialEffect, 50,000 more than the event in 2013. This year's 150,000 target would be another marked improvement.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now