Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Games deals down 81 per cent in 2015

By Matthew Handrahan

Games deals down 81 per cent in 2015

Mon 01 Feb 2016 11:40am GMT / 6:40am EST / 3:40am PST

Digi-Capital report shows "remarkable" decline in investments, M&A and IPOs

The value of games investments, M&A and IPOs dropped by 81 per cent in 2015, down from $25 billion in value in 2014 - a margin that Digi-Capital described as "remarkable."

In 2015, the total value of game deals was below $5 billion, a level not seen since the year the iPhone launched, 2007. Investments were down 30 per cent, M&A was down 75 per cent, while the games IPO market was, "at its lowest level for a decade."

A notable exclusion from Digi-Capital's data was Activision Blizzard's $5.9 billion acquisition of King. While that deal was made in 2015, it is not due to close until the spring of this year. With that included, it would have more than doubled the value for 2015. At the very least, 2016 will be off to a flying start.


From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now