Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

2K extends WWE license

By Brendan Sinclair

2K extends WWE license

Thu 28 Jan 2016 2:43pm GMT / 9:43am EST / 6:43am PST

Take-Two locks up exclusive game rights to pro wrestling outfit for years to come

The WWE-2K tag team is sticking together for at least a couple more years. 2K today announced that it has reached a multi-year agreement with the pro wrestling company that sees the publisher granted exclusive rights to make WWE games across all major platforms and distribution channels.

The two companies first came together in 2013, after the bankruptcy of former license-holder THQ. WWE and 2K parent Take-Two scrapped THQ's contract and came to their own agreement for the license. Since that time, the pairing has produced three console iterations in the WWE 2K series, as well as mobile titles like WWE SuperCard and WWE 2K.

"2K's partnership with WWE over the past three years has resulted in a successful and important addition to the company's portfolio of profitable franchises," said 2K COO David Ismailer. "We are thrilled with the positive momentum of the WWE 2K series, including generating year-over-year growth, as well as the success of WWE SuperCard. We are very pleased to extend our partnership with WWE and look forward to many more years of collaboration."

Neither financial terms nor length of the deal were disclosed.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now