Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Legendary Entertainment invests in Dead Realm publisher

By Rachel Weber

Legendary Entertainment invests in Dead Realm publisher

Wed 27 Jan 2016 8:41pm GMT / 3:41pm EST / 12:41pm PST

3BLACKDOT will co-develop original content, feature film

3BLACKDOT, also known as 3BD and the publisher of PC game Dark Realms, has received an investment from Legendary Entertainment.

The amount of investment was not disclosed, but Variety called it a "multimillion-dollar equity stake." It will allow 3BD to move into new areas including content, merchandise, game distribution and live events.

"3BD is thrilled to partner with Legendary, a company whose outlook on entertainment culture and audience engagement aligns perfectly with ours," said CEO Angelo Pullen.

"We look forward to collaborating and expanding with one of the best and most respected entertainment companies in the industry."

The companies will also work together on a feature film, one that Variety states will focus on eSports.

"Standing out as a digital content producer is difficult, but 3BlackDot and its influencer group, JETPAK, truly understand how to create engaged communities. There is really no limit to the amazing things that this collaboration can yield," added Legendary Digital Networks president Adam Rymer.

3BD was founded by former Machinima executives Angelo Pullen and Luke Stepleton and YouTubers Adam Montoya, Tom Cassell and Evan Fong. As well as publishing game content like Dark Realms and Zombie Killer Squad, it has 14 YouTube channels with around 53 million subscribers.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now