Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Vivendi sells its stake in Activision Blizzard

By Brendan Sinclair

Vivendi sells its stake in Activision Blizzard

Fri 15 Jan 2016 3:18pm GMT / 10:18am EST / 7:18am PST

Former parent company unloads remaining 5.7% interest in publisher for $1.1 billion

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...


Vivendi has sold its remaining interest in Activision Blizzard. The telecom giant today announced that it sold its remaining 41.5 million shares in the publisher for $1.1 billion. That represented about 5.7 percent of Activision Blizzard's common shares.

"The decision to implement these transactions was taken in view of the evolution of the Activision Blizzard stock price," Vivendi told investors.

A year ago today, Activision Blizzard shares were selling for $18.55. They closed trading yesterday at $35.40, up nearly 91 percent year-over-year.

The sale brings to an end a conscious uncoupling for the companies that has lasted nearly three years. In 2013, Activision Blizzard and CEO Bobby Kotick announced plans to buy the publisher's independence back from then-cash-strapped Vivendi in a deal worth $8.2 billion. Vivendi held on to about 12 percent of Activision Blizzard shares, but the company sold half of those in 2014 for $850 million.

Vivendi has not pulled out of gaming entirely; it's just keeping its money closer to home. Last year, the company purchased shares in fellow French companies Ubisoft and Gameloft.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now