Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Life Is Strange sparks Square Enix anti-bullying campaign

By Matthew Handrahan

Life Is Strange sparks Square Enix anti-bullying campaign

Thu 14 Jan 2016 10:36am GMT / 5:36am EST / 2:36am PST
Charity

Publisher will donate to PACER's National Bullying Prevention Centre as part of "Everyday Heroes" Twitter campaign

Square Enix has partnered with PACER's National Bullying Prevention Centre, taking a stand against the issues explored in Dontnod Entertainment's celebrated episodic series, Life Is Strange.

A video narrated by narrated by the protagonist of Life Is Strange, Max Caulfield, has highlighted "cyber-bullying and domestic abuse" as targets of the Everyday Heroes campaign. "Everyday Heroes are everywhere, and we want to hear your voice."

Between January 13 and January 19, Square Enix has pledged to make a donation to PACER's National Bullying Prevention Centre for every story about overcoming adversity and standing up for what's right tweeted with the hashtag #EverydayHeroes. The campaign's website is already filling up with tweets, so spread the word.

The fact that this campaign is even possible is testament to what Dontnod achieved. Games aren't generally known for dealing with such emotive issues, particularly a game on the scale of Life Is Strange. But it was greeted with great reviews scores and strong sales, and it is now the catalyst for a commendable effort to tackle a real-world problem.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now