Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Awesome Games Done Quick raised $1.2 million

By Matthew Handrahan

Awesome Games Done Quick raised $1.2 million

Mon 11 Jan 2016 9:06am GMT / 4:06am EST / 1:06am PST

Speedrunning event closes third consecutive year with more than $1 million raised

The charity speedrunning event Awesome Games Done Quick has raised more than $1.2 million for the Prevent Cancer Foundation.

This is the third consecutive year that the event has raised more than $1 million, though it didn't surpass last year's $1.5 million haul. That amount featured a $200,000 donation from Humble Bundle, however, which did not recur this year.

The event hosted speedruns of a wide variety of games: stone-cold classics like Super Mario 64 and Diablo, modern gems like Fez and Spelunky, and truly leftfield choices like Hudson Hawk and Johnny Bazookatone. Viewership figures were high throughout, with all but a handful of games pulling in a concurrent audience of 100,000 people, peaking with 220,000 for Super Mario Maker.

You can take a closer look at AGDQ's viewership and funding data here.

Just before the AGDQ organisers took a well-earned rest, they confirmed that the event will return for Summer Games Done Quick, June 3 to 9 in downtown Minneapolis.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now