Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Super Smash Bros. becomes fastest-selling Wii U game in US

By Dan Pearson

Super Smash Bros. becomes fastest-selling Wii U game in US

Tue 25 Nov 2014 2:08pm GMT / 9:08am EST / 6:08am PST
Retail

490,000 copies sold over three days, says NoA

Super Smash Bros. Wii U has become the console's fastest selling title in the US, shifting a combined 490,000 units across digital and physical combined in just three days.

The numbers mean it takes over from Mario Kart 8 as the Wii U's quickest seller in the territory, capitalising on excellent reviews and consumer feedback to land in nearly half a million US homes from November 21 to 23.

"The Nintendo holiday is off to a great start, but there's a lot of work left to do and a few more surprises in store for our fans," said NoA's Scott Moffitt. "With great deals coming on Black Friday and Cyber Monday and great content like Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker launching next week, Nintendo will offer shoppers the best combination of fun and value this holiday season."

Worldwide figures for the game have not yet been released.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

1 Comment

Daniel Hughes PhD Researcher, Bangor University

34 82 2.4
Worldwide figures for the game have not yet been released.
Because at the time of writing, it was only available in North America ;-)

European launch has seen stock shortages of the GameCube controllers, the controller adapter, and amiibos from what I saw. Presumably down to retailers underestimating demand.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now