Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

App Store revenue up 70 YoY

App Store revenue up 70 YoY

Thu 04 Sep 2014 11:17pm GMT / 7:17pm EDT / 4:17pm PDT
Mobile

App Annie report shows significant growth in consumer spending across iOS and Google Play

A new report from App Annie comparing Q2 2014 to Q2 2013 shows a 70 per cent rise in game revenue on the iOS App Store, while Google Play saw game revenue double.

The App Annie & IDC Portable Gaming Report also showed that game revenue for handheld consoles dropped by 28 per cent over the same time period. This was blamed on a lack of AAA titles for that market but predicted a surge to come later in the year.

1

It was also noted that games made up around 40 per cent of downloads across both the iOS and Google Play stores with Clash Of Clans currently the top grossing title for iOS and Puzzle & Dragons top for Google Play.

2

You can download a full copy of the report here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now