Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo of Europe cutting 320 jobs

Nintendo of Europe cutting 320 jobs

Fri 29 Aug 2014 4:29pm GMT / 12:29pm EDT / 9:29am PDT
PublishingJobs

Confirms that announced cuts will also affect temporary staff

Nintendo of Europe has confirmed that 320 jobs will be cut by August 31.

The company originally announced in June that 130 workers were being made redundant, but it's now clear that another 190 temporary agency workers are also having their contracts terminated.

The company provided the following statement to Kotaku.

"As previously communicated in June 2014, approximately 130 permanent employees will be released by Nintendo of Europe (Germany) at the end of August 2014 as part of a set of measures to better enable the European business to adapt to the rapidly changing business environment.

"As a separate measure, Nintendo of Europe is reorganizing its European Localization Development (ELD) department, where it currently uses a number of temporary agency workers in translation and testing activities, in order to increase flexibility and cost-efficiency in the long-term. It is intended that there will be an increase in outsourcing future translation and test activities to third-party companies on an as-needed basis, and very sadly this has meant having ended the contracts of 190 temporary agency workers, who were formally notified of this decision in June 2014."

Today Nintendo announced the New 3DS, the latest update to its popular handheld console.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now