Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Standalone Kinect arrives Oct. 7

Standalone Kinect arrives Oct. 7

Wed 27 Aug 2014 3:47pm GMT / 11:47am EDT / 8:47am PDT
RetailHardware

Xbox One camera peripheral available unbundled for $150 with code for Dance Central Spotlight

Microsoft has nailed down a launch date and price for the standalone Xbox One Kinect camera sensor. The company today said the peripheral would go on sale October 7 for $150.

The Kinect sensor was part of the original Xbox One hardware package, which sold for $500. In June, Microsoft began selling Xbox One hardware without the Kinect for $400. The cost of purchasing the console and camera separately still comes out to $50 more than the original bundle, but Microsoft is including a downloadable copy of Harmonix's Dance Central Spotlight with each standalone Kinect purchased.

When Xbox head Phil Spencer first announced that Microsoft was dropping Kinect from the hardware bundle, he stressed that "Kinect remains an important part of our vision." Xbox One sales doubled month-over-month after Microsoft released the Kinect-less version of the hardware, but Microsoft today said it has seen increased demand for the Xbox One with Kinect as well.

1 Comment

Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,194 1,170 0.5
Ha. I think I called it a while back when I said we'd see Kinect sold solo for more than it came bundled. That free game isn't going to be enough to entice anyone unless they're into Dance Central (which, I'll admit is a fun game if you like that sort of thing)...

Posted:2 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now