Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Google-Twitch deal nixed by antitrust concerns - Report

Google-Twitch deal nixed by antitrust concerns - Report

Tue 26 Aug 2014 2:06pm GMT / 10:06am EDT / 7:06am PDT
Business

Two companies could not agree on breakup fee if regulators struck down proposed acquisition

Yesterday's news that Amazon is buying Twitch was surprising for a number of reasons, not least of which was that the video streaming service had reportedly reached a deal with Google months earlier. A Forbes report citing sources familiar with the Google talks says it was ultimately antitrust concerns that scuttled the original agreement.

Google already owns YouTube, the largest streaming site in the world and a competitor to Twitch when it comes to gaming content. One of Forbes' sources said the two companies couldn't reach an agreement on how large a breakup fee Twitch would be due if an acquisition could not be finalized.

The original Google deal was reported to be $1 billion. Twitch's eventual sale to Amazon was for $970 million in cash.

4 Comments

Robert Abercrombie
Associate Producer Intern

9 6 0.7
I always have these pictures of Scrooge Mc'Duck that's receiving truckloads of coins. How does a deal like this in cash actually look like?

Posted:A month ago

#1

Andrew Ihegbu
Studying Bsc Commercial Music

451 162 0.4
It looks like 24 x 18 wheelers worth of money. That's how Samsung paid Apple for their $1bn lawsuit.

Posted:A month ago

#2

Steven Hodgson
Programmer

84 122 1.5
At least it wasn't Facebook

Posted:A month ago

#3

Eric Pallavicini
Game Master

287 182 0.6
It tells quite a lot about the potential seen as marketing platform and also about growing popularity of enjoying video games as spectator.

Posted:A month ago

#4

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now