Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

First ever "Firaxicon" detailed

First ever "Firaxicon" detailed

Fri 22 Aug 2014 9:44am GMT / 5:44am EDT / 2:44am PDT
Events

Event features previews, panels and Sid Meier

Firaxis, cradle of Civilisation, has announced its first ever convention, to take place in Septmeber in the Hunt Valley, MD home of the developer.

"Firaxicon will officially take place on Saturday, September 27th, 2014 starting at 10am and ending on Sunday morning for all you late night gamers," a statement on the event's page reads.

Attendees of the event, which costs just $40, will be treated to panels and discussions dedicated to Firaxis games, including X-Com, Civ and Pirates, as well as meeting the Firaxis team, touring its offices and a special "evening with Sid Meier." Beyond Earth, the forthcoming Civ title which is the spiritual sequel to Alpha Centauri, will be on hand for visitors to play a month before release.

4 Comments

Steve Wetz
Reviewer/Assistant Editor

209 521 2.5
Sid Meier has enough games that bear his name for a Con of his own. That's pretty awesome.

I would love to see annoucnements of a true successor to Railroad Tycoon, and well as a new Pirates.

Posted:25 days ago

#1

Joshua Hagood
Moderation Project Manager

7 4 0.6
Is the game really spelled Civilisation in the UK?

Posted:25 days ago

#2

Dan Wood
Visual Effects Artist

32 51 1.6
Nope, it's still spelled the wrong way :-P

Posted:24 days ago

#3

Robert Aiking
Product Manager

20 4 0.2
Firaxis, cradle of Civilization
Well done there, Dan.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Robert Aiking on 25th August 2014 9:54am

Posted:22 days ago

#4

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now