Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony confirms Sucker Punch layoffs

Sony confirms Sucker Punch layoffs

Wed 20 Aug 2014 8:58am GMT / 4:58am EDT / 1:58am PDT
PeopleJobs

Unconfirmed number of redundancies at Infamous developer

Sony has confirmed that there have been redundancies at Infamous developer Sucker Punch, although the exact number of job losses is not known.

In a statement released to IGN, Sony expressed its sympathies, but did not clarify whether the cuts were a result of missed expectations or simply the regular trimming of the workforce post-project.

"SCEA can confirm a reduction in workforce has taken place at Sucker Punch Productions. Sucker Punch is appreciative of the tremendous work team members contributed to the inFAMOUS and Sly Cooper series, and wishes them the best in their next endeavours."

InFamous Second Son, Sucker Punch's most recent title, reviewed well, receiving an 80 per cent Metaxritic average. It also sold over a million copies and reached number one in the UK chart.

2 Comments

This must be a post-project trim especially as stand alone DLC is completed too?

Posted:2 months ago

#1

Alfonso Sexto Lead Tester, Ubisoft Germany

822 654 0.8
If we haven't heard of an outcry like the one in Crytek, this is most likely what Benn said. So best of luck to those affected.

Also and without any kind of mockery intended: can't help but noticed how the name of the company makes the article headline sound funny ;)

Posted:2 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now