Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

ESL One Cologne 2014 breaks viewer records

ESL One Cologne 2014 breaks viewer records

Wed 20 Aug 2014 5:37pm GMT / 1:37pm EDT / 10:37am PDT
EventseSports

Peak online concurrent viewership of more than 409,368

ESL One Cologne 2014 attracted peak online concurrent viewership of more than 409,368 who watched the Counter Strike: Global Offensive match in-game or online.

Twitch alone saw 343,638 peak concurrent viewers, beating the record set in March by 153 per cent.

"It's amazing to see the growth of Counter Strike: Global Offensive in the eSports community. Just five months after ESL One Katowice, we see ESL One Cologne 2014 break our previous record by an amazing 161 per cent," said the ESL's Ulrich Schulze.

"We had over ten million sessions and were just shy of three million unique viewers for ESL One Cologne 2014. It's absolutely amazing to see and we're all very excited to get back to work and see where we can take Counter Strike: Global Offensive next."

The competition offered $250,000 in cash as prizes with winners Ninjas In Pyjamas taking home $100,000.

For more on the ESL check out our interview with Craig Levine, VP North America at the company.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now