Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GameStop CEO recovering from brain tumor

GameStop CEO recovering from brain tumor

Tue 19 Aug 2014 2:52pm GMT / 10:52am EDT / 7:52am PDT
RetailPeople

Paul Raines had the tumor removed last week; his executive team will help oversee operations during his recovery

In a filing with the SEC today, leading video games retailer GameStop revealed that its CEO Paul Raines had a "very small" tumor recently removed from his brain. Thankfully for Raines, his family and GameStop, the cancerous tumor was discovered at an early stage and doctors said the prognosis for a complete recovery is good.

"The next step is for Paul to undergo preventive chemotherapy. Recovery from this process is expected to take about six weeks. This regimen will restrict his travel during that period, but will not interfere with his continued leadership of the Company," GameStop said in the filing.

Daniel A. DeMatteo, Executive Chairman, added, "Speaking for the Board, we have every confidence in Paul's continued leadership and wish him a speedy recovery. While he recovers, our highly-tenured executive team will ensure that our business continues without interruption."

GameStop is expected to report its second-quarter financial results this Thursday. The company recently confirmed reports that it's overhauling its trade-in program.

GamesIndustry.biz wishes Raines all the best for a quick and full recovery.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now