Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox, PlayStation, ESL Twitch accounts compromised

Xbox, PlayStation, ESL Twitch accounts compromised

Fri 15 Aug 2014 7:55am GMT / 3:55am EDT / 12:55am PDT
OnlinePublisher

Offensive material forces platform holders to delete archived broadcasts

Both Sony and Microsoft's console Twitch channels have been compromised by a third party, along with that of the eSports League, having the titles on archived content with offensive, racist and homophobic messages.

All three channels suffered outages as the breach was secured and much of the affected content has now been taken offline.

A spokesperson for Twitch said that they believed somebody had managed to access the accounts via a connected computer at Gamescom. "We're deleting the offensive VODs as soon as we find them and are alerting individual teams at the venue," the company told Polygon.

"As a precautionary measure, we temporarily removed highlights and past broadcasts for those channels since it's in the early hours of the morning in Cologne."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now