Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Women spend the most time and money on mobile games

By Rachel Weber

Women spend the most time and money on mobile games

Thu 07 Aug 2014 4:38pm GMT / 12:38pm EDT / 9:38am PDT

Flurry report shows women make 31% more in-app purchases than men

A new study of mobile games has shown that women are not only more loyal than men when it comes to their gaming habits, they spend more time and money too.

They make 31 per cent more in-app purchases than men, according to Flurry's data, and spend 35 per cent more time using gaming apps. They also have a 42 per cent higher seven day retention on average versus men.

The study was inspired by the recent success of Kim Kardashian: Hollywood but when Flurry looked at the 19 genres of games available on the App Store "nine categories skew female, including the top two categories from a time-spent perspective. Six categories skew male and four categories are split almost evenly between males and females." The graph is below.


The findings are based on a worldwide study of "a sample of successful games that reach a total of 1.1 million devices on the Flurry platform."

From Recommendations by Taboola

1 Comment

Joshua Hagood Moderation Project Manager, Metaverse Mod Squad

10 4 0.4
My Fiance said "It's because of boyfriend maker"

Posted:A year ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now