Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Apple claims $6.5 billion paid to EU app devs since 2008

Apple claims $6.5 billion paid to EU app devs since 2008

Thu 07 Aug 2014 8:16am GMT / 4:16am EDT / 1:16am PDT
MobileDevelopment

European GDP will receive $16.5 billion from overall app economy this year

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

European iOS developers have been paid $6.5 billion from App Store sales since 2008, according to new data released by Apple.

That's essentially one third of the $20 billion in worldwide App Store sales since it launched six years ago. And the dominance of games among the highest earning apps is, by now, well documented.

There are now 280,000 European members of Apple's paid developer programme, and the United Kingdom is the leader in that group: UK developers account for 61,100 members, with Germany just behind with 52,200 members. Since 2008, Apple claims that almost 500,000 jobs have been created that are "directly attributable" to the App Store.

"This job growth for coders, developers, entrepreneurs, and others would not have existed without Apple's innovation and technology," the company said.

And the bigger picture is getting better all the time. According to Apple's estimates, the "overall app economy" will contribute $16.5 billion in revenue to the European GDP this year, and that contribution is appreciating at a rate of 12 per cent per year.

Worldwide, the overall app economy will provide around $86 billion to GDP in 2014.

1 Comment

Does that make it a more valuable trade partner than Russia? ;)

Posted:3 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now