Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Square Enix enjoys strong Q1, raises six month forecast

Square Enix enjoys strong Q1, raises six month forecast

Wed 06 Aug 2014 10:31am GMT / 6:31am EDT / 3:31am PDT
Publishing

Repeat games sales exceed expectations in a quiet period for new releases

Square Enix has revised its six-month revenue forecast of a strong showing in the first fiscal quarter.

In the three month period ended June 20, 2014, Square Enix earned 37.8 billion in revenue, a near 57 per cent increase on the 24.1 billion it earned in the prior year. And it continued its profitable run, making 3.4 billion where it lost 493 million in the same quarter last year.

Digital Entertainment - games, basically - contributed the bulk of that revenue: 23.5 billion, more than double the 11.6 billion it earned in Q1 last year.

And that performance is despite only one console game being released during the quarter: Murdered: Soul Suspect, which launched at the start of June to mixed reviews, and was closely followed by the apparent closure of its developer, Airtight Games.

The main reason offered for the company's performance wasn't new releases, but the continuing strong performance of games launched in the previous fiscal year, and persistent, service-based titles like Final Fantasy XIV and its mobile portfolio.

That, along with ongoing efforts to reduce costs, has prompted Square Enix to increase its six-month forecast by 5 billion. It now expects to make between 68 billion and 74 billion in revenue in the six-month period ending September 30, 2014.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now