Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Ultima Forever shutting down

Ultima Forever shutting down

Fri 01 Aug 2014 2:51pm GMT / 10:51am EDT / 7:51am PDT
Mobile

EA pulling plug on free-to-play iOS iteration of RPG franchise one year after launch

"Forever" doesn't mean what it used to. Electronic Arts announced yesterday that it is pulling the plug on its free-to-play iOS role-playing game Ultima Forever: Quest for the Avatar.

The sunsetting of the game was detailed in a post on the forums of developer Mythic, the closure of which was announced in May.

"This was a very difficult decision for us to make," an admin wrote. "We've seen the game through ups and downs, and hope that you've enjoyed playing it every bit as much as we had making it!"

Ultima Forever launched worldwide on August 8 last year. It will shut down August 29, and EA has halted sale of premium currency in the game.

5 Comments

Steve Wetz
Reviewer/Assistant Editor

213 529 2.5
Popular Comment
Inappropriately titled, wasn't it?

Posted:A month ago

#1

Greg Wilcox
Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,174 1,124 0.5
Well, Steve... Ultima Temporary was probably too close to the truth...

Posted:A month ago

#2

Christian Keichel
Journalist

674 922 1.4
Not inappropriately, only incomplete

That Ultima game that will be remembered Forever as a dumb idea.
Ultima will be in Limbo Forever after this game.

Edited 4 times. Last edit by Christian Keichel on 5th August 2014 8:13am

Posted:A month ago

#3

Andreia Quinta
Creative & People Photographer

215 549 2.6
Sorry Mythic, some companies just wanna see studios crash and burn.

Posted:A month ago

#4

Alfonso Sexto
Lead Tester

807 637 0.8
Ultima forever hopefully forever shutting down for good and forever.

There, fixed it.

Posted:A month ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now