Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Smartphone game revenue doubled in Asia in 2013

Smartphone game revenue doubled in Asia in 2013

Thu 31 Jul 2014 8:28am GMT / 4:28am EDT / 1:28am PDT
RetailPublishing

New report forecasts further growth: $12.1 billion revenue in five key markets this year

Revenue generated from smartphone games in Asian markets doubled in 2013, hitting $8.9 billion.

According to a report from CyberZ and Seed Planning, smartphone game revenue in Japan, China, Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong reached ¥916 billion last year - twice that earned in 2012.

Japan is the key market in the region, representing 60 per cent - $5.3 billion - of total revenue. While the figures aren't consistent with the report released by the Japanese CESA, it is further proof of the rapid rise and current dominance of mobile gaming in Japan.

And that trend shows no signs of a downturn. CyberZ and Seed Planning estimate that smartphone game revenue will reach $12.1 billion across Asian markets in 2014, ascending to $21.1 billion in 2017 based on current exchange rates.

Translation courtesy of Chorus Worldwide.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now