Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Indie game Maia makes $1m

Indie game Maia makes $1m

Thu 31 Jul 2014 4:10pm GMT / 12:10pm EDT / 9:10am PDT
Development

Crowdfunding and Steam Early Access helps god-game hit revenue milestone

Maia, the crowdfunded god title by Simon Roth, has now earned over $1 million from sales, Steam Early Access and crowdfunding. Not bad for a game still in development.

Roth, who just launched new company Machine Studios, reported the figure to Develop today.

The game raised $236,920 (140,481) through Kickstarter and $11,435 (6780) from Indiegogo, meaning the game has reaped over $750,000 in direct sales and Steam Early Access, where it went live in December last year.

"I think someone described it as bottom feeding indies, saying that if you cater for the smallest niche, you can actually be quite profitable because on the internet your niche still consists of thousands of people," he told GamesIndustry.biz back in 2013.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now