Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Capcom sees drop in revenues and profit, but stays in the black

Capcom sees drop in revenues and profit, but stays in the black

Thu 31 Jul 2014 8:18am GMT / 4:18am EDT / 1:18am PDT
FinancialPublisher

Increased efficiency offsets lack of new releases somewhat

Capcom has weathered a quarter of no major releases to report a drop in both sales and net income, but increased operating income thanks to improved efficiency and healthy repeat sales.

Sales for the first quarter of FY2015 were down 7.8 billion Yen to 9.6 billion Yen, year-on-year. Net income dropped 63 million Yen to 765 million Yen. Operating income, however, rose sharply to 1.27 billion Yen from 723 million for the same quarter last year.

"Although sales declined due to a lack of major titles, operating income increased on highly profitable repeat sales and cost reductions in each business segment," a Capcom statement explained.

Foreign exchange rates, which dropped from last year, also affected the quarter.

Monster Hunter remains the flagship franchise for the publisher, with the forthcoming November launch of Monster Hunter 4 in Japan expected to offer a significant boost to the company's bottom line.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now