Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Bravely Default tops 1 million sold

Bravely Default tops 1 million sold

Mon 28 Jul 2014 6:47pm GMT / 2:47pm EDT / 11:47am PDT
Retail

Majority of Square Enix 3DS RPG's sales came from outside Japan

Much of Square Enix's Western focus in recent years has been on the resurrection of franchises like Deus Ex and Tomb Raider, but the company's Japanese RPG acumen is still paying off around the world. Siliconera reports that the Japanese publisher confirmed its recent 3DS fantasy RPG Bravely Default has surpassed 1 million copies sold.

Bravely Default performed particularly well outside of its home country, as Square Enix said its Japanese RPG sold 400,000 copies domestically and an additional 600,000 internationally. Nintendo published the title in the US and Europe.

The game has done well enough that Square Enix has announced a sequel, Bravely Second. That game has not yet been given a release window, but it is being developed for the 3DS.

1 Comment

Ron Dippold Software/Firmware Engineer

33 128 3.9
My favorite part of all this, other than the game itself, is how baffled Squeenix management has been by the idea that if they make a good old Final Fantasy RPG people will actually buy it. They made some appropriate noises, but still seem to believe it's a fluke - and it may be if the sequel doesn't fix the story structure problems, but it's not from lack of demand.

Posted:4 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now