Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PS4 to get 3D Blu-Ray support

PS4 to get 3D Blu-Ray support

Thu 24 Jul 2014 9:06am GMT / 5:06am EDT / 2:06am PDT
Hardware

Firmware 1.75 update will hit next week

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

The PlayStation 4 will get 3D Blu-Ray support as part of next week's 1.75 firmware update.

Sony is following closely behind Microsoft, which announced 3D Blu-Ray support for Xbox One last week. This is one of the only significant feature additions to the PlayStation 4 in several months, and Sony was sure to lace its announcement tweet with the requisite amount of forced celebration.

That tweet is from PlayStation US, but the PlayStation Europe account did not pin down the launch of the firmware update quite so firmly.

This is also a reminder of Sony's one-time fascination with pushing 3D as a core feature of the PlayStation 3. Back in 2010 and 2011, it was a key focus of Sony's strategy at conferences and at retail.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now