Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft cutting 75% of full time Xbox EMEA staff - report

Microsoft cutting 75% of full time Xbox EMEA staff - report

Fri 18 Jul 2014 4:03pm GMT / 12:03pm EDT / 9:03am PDT
Hardware

"We eliminated a number of EMEA roles in the UK to gain efficiencies"

Latest reports suggest that the Microsoft restructuring process will have a massive impact on the Xbox EMEA team, with drastic cuts to the staff currently based in Reading.

According to MCV 75 per cent of full time Xbox EMEA roles there would be terminated and staff asked to reapply to secure the remaining 25 per cent. The UK Xbox team will reduce by ten per cent and all contractor roles have been terminated. Microsoft did not confirm these exact numbers to MCV, but did offer a statement.

"We remain very committed to the market and will continue to support our local development teams"

"We eliminated a number of EMEA roles in the UK to gain efficiencies," said a Microsoft spokesperson.

"We remain very committed to the market and will continue to support our local development teams. We believe that the UK has exceptional games industry talent and we'll continue to focus on game creation... through Microsoft Studios like Rare, Lionhead Studios, Lift London and Soho Productions. Also, Europe continues to be an important market for Xbox, and we're excited to launch Xbox One to fans in 13 mainland European markets in September."

GamesIndustry.biz has reached out to Microsoft's EMEA representatives for clarification on the restructuring.

The move comes as part of a global restructuring plan laid out by new CEO Satya Nadella which will see 18,000 jobs cut across the company.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now