Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Yokai Watch 2 sells 1.3m in opening week

Yokai Watch 2 sells 1.3m in opening week

Wed 16 Jul 2014 3:57pm GMT / 11:57am EDT / 8:57am PDT
Retail

Rocks the top of the Japanese charts and boosts 3DS XL sales

It's all about Yokai Watch 2 on the Japanese charts; the game has sold a massive 1.3 million units in its first week on sale, and helped to boost sales of the 3DS XL by 33,617 compared to last week.

Not bad considering its predecessor, Yokai Watch, is still holding on to third place in the chart with a lifetime sales record of almost 1.2 million copies.

  1. [3DS] Yokai Watch 2: Ganso / Honke - 1,316,707 (New entry)
  2. [PSV] Freedom Wars - 20,617 (Lifetime sales - 252,665)
  3. [3DS] Yokai Watch - 19,153 (1,195,287)
  4. [Wii U] Mario Kart 8 - 15,143 (527,366)
  5. [3DS] Taiko Drum Master: Don and Katsu's Space-Time Great Adventure - 14,713 (92,220)

In hardware Vita also saw a significant rise in unit sales, up almost 20,500 on last week.

  1. 3DS XL - 55,531 (Last week - 21,914)
  2. PlayStation Vita - 38,907 (18,438)
  3. Wii U - 8,658 (9,961)
  4. PlayStation 3 - 7,763 (7,511)
  5. PlayStation 4 - 7,150 (7,876)
  6. 3DS - 6,425 (5,424)
  7. PlayStation Vita TV - 1,803 (2,217)
  8. PSP - 779 (1,579)
  9. Xbox 360 - 140 (180)

Charts collated by Media Create and published by Gematsu.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now