Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Oculus VR will cancel eBayed pre-orders

Oculus VR will cancel eBayed pre-orders

Tue 15 Jul 2014 11:26pm GMT / 7:26pm EDT / 4:26pm PDT
Hardware

Community lead confirms its keeping an eye out

Oculus VR's community lead has warned the company will cancel any Oculus Rift DK2 pre-orders that it spots people selling on auction sites like eBay.

According to TechCrunch, Oculus VR reacted quickly when a listing (since deleted) was spotted on eBay.

"Don't worry guys. We found him and we cancelled his order," said Oculus' community manager.

The representative also had reassuring words for anyone worrying their order for the unit, which starts shipping this month, could be cancelled by mistake.

"Just so everyone is clear, the information provided alone was not enough to take action. We perform our own investigations with tools at our disposal to make sure that there isn't a false positive."

"Our community is awesome! Thank you for helping us make sure that we are getting kits into the hands of devs and shutting down profiteers."

So far more than 45,000 units have been pre-ordered.

2 Comments

Andrew Jakobs
Lead Programmer

223 83 0.4
Well, they said the first would arrive by 14th of june and a lot by the end of june, but even for someone who has a preorder within the first 24 hours (the same day as the preorders started), the order is still "awaiting inventory", and I'm sure the same goes for the persons who ordered within the first hours..

Posted:15 days ago

#1

Matthew Hardy
Studying Multimedia/Game Design

38 99 2.6
Everything I've seen and read said late July - early August for DK2.

Posted:15 days ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now