Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

iOS still the top platform for mobile revenue

iOS still the top platform for mobile revenue

Wed 16 Jul 2014 5:59pm GMT / 1:59pm EDT / 10:59am PDT
Mobile

App Annie report suggests that Google Play leads on downloads but not cash

The latest report from App Annie suggests that, according to its data, Google Play is winning the app downloads race in Q2 2014 but iOS is the still the platform that is securing the most revenue.

According to App Annie figures, in the latest quarter Apple's App Store made 80 per cent more revenue than Google Play, despite Google Play securing 60 per cent more downloads on its platform.

Brazil, Thailand and India helped to drive the growth in Google Play downloads, giving the platform a 45 per cent rise on the previous quarter.

The report also identified Japan and China as the key countries behind Apple's impressive revenue dominance, while Taiwan, Kuwait, and Turkey were named as quick-growing markets to keep an eye on. Each grew more than 30 per cent quarter-over-quarter.

App Annie sources data from 150 countries worldwide on both iOS App Store and Google Play. Its report can be downloaded in full here.

1 Comment

Paul Johnson
Managing Director / Lead code monkey

843 1,093 1.3
Your chances of getting a piece of pie are lower on iOS though. We and most devs we talk to all earn more money from Android than iOS, purely because it's still easier to get seen.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Paul Johnson on 16th July 2014 11:35pm

Posted:2 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now