Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Raspberry Pi gets an overhaul

Raspberry Pi gets an overhaul

Mon 14 Jul 2014 11:10am GMT / 7:10am EDT / 4:10am PDT
HardwareDevelopment

The "final evolution" of the hardware is on sale for the same low price

The Raspberry Pi microcomputer has had a significant overhaul, what its creators have labelled "the final evolution" of the current version of the hardware.

The new version of the Raspberry Pi Model B - the "B+" - went on sale today. It has the same BCM2835 application processor, it runs the same software, and it has 512MB RAM, but it features a number of significant additions and refinements.

The B+ has four USB ports - versus two on the B - a micro SD port, improved audio, better power consumption, and the configuration of the board has been altered. And even with all of those changes, it's still available for just $35.

Supply concerns have prompted The Raspberry Pi Foundation to make the Model B available as long as there is demand for it.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now